Opening a New Project File - Advanced Options

New Project schedule options discussion

So why did we put this up front, here?  We thought that this was important to get out in front of everyone and at the same time point out that there are important options and considerations "buried" within Microsoft Project.

 

Before opening either new or existing schedule file the project manager / schedule needs to consider how the Advance tab options have been set-up in the Backstage Project Options section. These options can benefit and save the project manager / scheduler a lot of work and time. Below we discuss what their defaults are and what we should consider in order to get the maximum usage out of Microsoft(R) Project.

Select the File tab and then the Options tab and then click the Advanced button in the dialog box.

Set Autofilter on for new projects:

Default value setting = checked

This option is useful for the project manager who will be looking and selecting schedule data in-order to run reports to meet scheduling situations and specific sponsor reporting requests.

Open Last file on startup

Default value setting = unchecked

 

This option is very useful if the project manager / scheduler is continually” only opening and working on a single project schedule file. This can be a good time saver.

Prompt for project for new Projects

Default value = unchecked

This is an option that will become active when the client PC is connected to Microsoft(R) Project Server.  Enterprise Custom fields can be used to gather project information with the schedule file is Opened for the first time.

Show add-in user interface errors

Default value = unchecked

 

This options will need further review and explanation

Undo levels

Default value = 20

This is of great value as the project manager / schedule become familiar with Microsoft(R) Project. The only word of caution you may need is that this option can take up a large amount of computer resource. So balancing the needs of the number of undo’s will need to be balanced with your computer performance.

 

Allow team members to reassign tasks

Default value = unchecked

This is an option that will become active when the client PC is connected to Microsoft(R) Project Server.

Advice from Planning Wizard

Default value = unchecked

This is an option that will become active when the client PC is connected to Microsoft(R) Project Server.

Advice about using Project

Default value = unchecked

This is an option that will become active when the client PC is connected to Microsoft(R) Project Server.

Advice about scheduling

Default value = unchecked

This is an option that will become active when the client PC is connected to Microsoft(R) Project Server.

Advice about errors

Default value = unchecked

This is an option that will become active when the client PC is connected to Microsoft(R) Project Server.